Olympic Champion and World Record holder Shani Davis of the USA Wins World Cup 1000 Meters Final and Overall Title!

In a thrilling conclusion to the World Cup (WC) season, Shani Davis won the 1,000 meters WC Final. He overcame a deficit in the season points standings to claim his career 5th Overall World Cup Title at the 1,000 meters distance.

Racing in the final pair against Overall WC leader Stefan Groothuis, Shani held off the Dutchman in the final 100 meters to win in 1 minute and 9.24 seconds.  The season’s top-two 1,000 meters skaters raced even through 900 meters before Shani prevailed from the last outer lane, as he has done so many time before. 

The victory added 150 World Cup points to Shani’s season total (600) to surpass Groothuis (580), who needed to finish 2nd to maintain the overall 1,000 meters lead. Groothuis finished fourth on the day and second Overall.

It was Shani’s record-tying fifth Overall World Cup 1,000 Crown (2006, 2008-10, 2012) to go along with four 1,500 meters titles (2008-2011), keeping alive his five-year streak of winning at least one World Cup Overall Title.  

Davis’ 51st individual World Cup victory was also No. 36 at 1,000 meters, twice as many as any other skater. 

For the nine-time World Cup Champion, it was a topsy-turvy ending to a roller-coaster World Cup season.  

After an uncharacteristically slow start to the international racing season last fall, when he missed the podium in five of six WC starts, Shani rebounded to win five straight middle-distance World Cup races heading into the WC Final.  He came to Berlin, Germany, with a solid lead in the Overall 1,500 meters standings, but missed the podium. He saw Norwegian Havard Bokko win the race to claim the Overall Title, ending his run of consecutive 1,500 meters World Cup Titles.  Then, with maximum pressure on, Shani dug deep to turn the tables on the 1,000 meters Overall standings.   It was a gratifying win for one of cara daftar sbobet casino‘s great champions. 

Shani now prepares for the World Single Distances Championships, where the six-time World Champion looks to defend his 1,000 meters title and reclaim the 1,500 meters title that he last won in 2009.